I’m Engaged!!

So, now that I’ve spoiled the news with my headline….

I’M ENGAGED!!

And now a little background: I first met Jon O’Brien approximately two years ago. I don’t remember this meeting at all. Apparently, we had this whole conversation at my Wednesday night Bible study and while I vaguely remember the conversation, I don’t remember him.

Horrible, isn’t it?

However, I distinctly remember meeting him in January this last year. Mostly, because he’s tall, dark-haired, green-eyed and very good-looking. He’s a long-snapper for our college football team.

We started talking a lot – especially after Wednesday night study (that takes place at my house). He would stay really, really late afterwards. I’d curl up in the recliner and he’d lounge on the couch and we would talk about everything for hours at a time.

Our first outing? He took me to a family’s house to spend time with their four little kids before they moved. I decided I officially liked him after seeing him with little kids. Our first date we went to a Mexican restaurant for lunch and ended up talking for four hours!

I’ve seen him almost everyday since Day One. We’ve gotten to know each other while hiking, shooting trap, watching movies, playing games with my family, and cheering at football games with his. He’s celebrated Miss Match and Rematch with me, become friends with my family, and get this: he even brings me mochas!

He’s got the sweetest heart after God, a hilarious sense of humor, a love of kids, a hard work ethic and is extremely talented at football. As sappy as it sounds, I love Jon O’Brien more than I can put into words. And I make my living with words!

He planned another hike this last Sunday after church. We hiked up to an area in the mountains about an hour and a half from my house, next to a river. We had a little picnic and were just talking and cuddling when he stood up to stretch, then pulled me up too.

He told me he loved me, which he has said many times before. Then he said, “I want to spend the rest of my life with you. So I have one question…”

Right here’s where he got down on one knee and I started saying, “Oh my gosh!” over and over. He asked me to marry him and I said yes!

The last few days have been a whirlwind of planning and meeting the rest of his family and wedding details. On the evening of our first Thanksgiving as an engaged couple, I read this in my devotions:

“O Lord, You are my God; I will exalt You, I will give thanks to Your name; For You have worked wonders, plans formed long ago with perfect faithfulness.” – Isaiah 25:1

I’m putting up a few pictures of us and the ring. 🙂 I’m so incredibly happy – my face has been hurting from all the smiling!

This picture was taken in the same spot he proposed – though this is from an earlier hike.

So beautiful!! Jon did an amazing job picking it out!!

Have a WONDERFUL week everyone!

A very ecstatic Erynn 🙂

8 Responses to “I’m Engaged!!”

  1. Michelle D Says:

    Hey Erynn,
    CONGRATS! You have a lot of great stuff going on in your life right now!

    Also, I wanted to tell you how excited I was to see my review of Miss Match in the inside page of Rematch. And of course I went around the office bragging about it! And speaking of which, there is a couple girls in my office of whom picked up both of your books and loved them! We’ll probably be racing to see who can get a hold of and read your next book. 🙂

    Keep up the great work and my God keep blessing your life!

  2. Samantha G. Says:

    Hey Erynn,
    Congrats! I’m so happy for you, you must be so happy. You two look adorable.

    p.s.~ I sent you an email off you webpage and i don’t know if you got it. But CONGRATS again.

  3. Rebornbutterfly Says:

    yay!!
    What a sweet guy 🙂
    -RB

  4. QallieQ Says:

    Erynn,
    Congratulations, I am sooo happy for you.
    Ever since I discovered Miss Match, I have fallen in love wiht your characters… I am so happy to know that you too have found the perfect match 🙂

    Helga

  5. MissBookworm Says:

    Congratulations Erynn!! I’m so excited for you!! he’s seems very nice. Do you know when you’re getting married?? My cousin got married yesterday and I caught the bouquet….LOL hope you have a great day!!

    ~MissBookworm

  6. thedeena Says:

    Congrats to my favorite matchmaker/author:-)

  7. Samantha J. Says:

    Woow. Congrats, Erynn! I love your books. Especially Lauren because she is so easy to relate to. You are a great author and I hope you continue writing after the Lauren Holbrook series. Again, congratulations. You and Jon are too too cute! Happy New Year!

  8. Mangum J. Says:

    I’m so happy for you Erynn. It’s just like all those sappy love movies that my sister. mom, and I love to watch. Thats so gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

