A Rodential Idea :)

Okay. I think all of us have taken that quiz at some point in our lives that asks “If you were an animal, what would you be?”

Well, after many years of thought and reflection on this question, I’ve finally come up with an answer. Ahem.

A prairie dog.

And now, here’s the reasoning behind my heavily thought-out answer. A few key traits of the prairie dog might explain more:

* They are very social animals.

* They’re loud.

* They insulate their burrows to stay warm.

* They are excitable.

So, with all that in mind, you might be a little more sympathetic when I confess that I don’t really like waiting for things, being calm, being peaceful or having questions that go unanswered.

Maybe I’m reading too far into Proverbs 13:12, but I think the author wasn’t too fond of those things either: “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but longing fulfilled is the tree of life.”

Those aren’t super calm, peaceful adjectives.

So here’s my new plan. Instead of praying for peace or the ability to be calm or even just for life to not have any troubles, I think I’ll pray that whatever comes – pain, fun, heartache, laughter – I’ll do what it says in 1 Corinthians 10:31 and bring glory to God through it all.

So, who’s up for a little game? 🙂 If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

Hasta la pasta!

Erynn

P.S. Wow. With a sign-off like that, suddenly I’m really hungry for Italian..

4 Responses to “A Rodential Idea :)”

  1. Christy Says:

    No doubt about it, I’d be a turtle. Though I’m soft and tender-hearted on the inside, I tend to retreat into my own little world where I can laze happily and bask in the sunshine of my imagination. One of the side-effects of being a writer, eh? Also, I dive headlong into my protective “shell” anytime I feel threatened of being hurt. I’m getting better at that part though. You have to let people in in order to love!

  2. Ruth Says:

    I can’t really decide what animal I am. So what does that make me? A platypus, I think! Half duck, beaver, otter and anything else you can think of 🙂

  3. Paris Says:

    I’d be a chipmunk for sure. Maybe a squirrel. You guys can guess why!

  4. Pattie Says:

    OK, well, we have prairie dogs up here in North Dakota…and they eat their dead friends. URGH. Gross.

    and now you’ll remember me as the one who put the “dead things, Mikey, dead things!” comment on your blog!

    I just read “Miss Match” on my vacation and laughed out loud so much! Enjoyed it. Looking forward to reading the next two in the series!

Leave a Reply

