To all who complained there was too much coffee temptation in my books…

You were right.

Sigh.

I was sitting here typing about a caramel macchiato, and how it smelled and how it tasted, and no sooner had the words slipped from my fingers…but before I knew it, I was saving the document and going to make a mug of hot caramelly, sugary, creamy delight (with homemade whipped cream! Yes, I am bragging. Just call me Rachael Ray).

This has only happened to me once before. I was reading Francine River’s unbelievably amazing The Atonement Child, and there’s a scene where the main characters are in San Francisco, talking, watching the seagulls, eating clam chowder out of bread bowls, tourist-watching and I sat up straight and went, “Oo! Soup! Oh! Bread!”

Double sigh. I’ve been drinking caffeine all day at the tea shop. What I need to be drinking is good old H2O. But no, I crave the deep, dark, sweet, calorie-packed stuff. Ah well. There’s water in tea. There’s water in coffee. My skin still appears hydrated (yay Aveeno!).

So, now I’m caffeinated, happy and past my allotted “Make-My-Deadline” word count for today. Hurray! Nearly 21,000 words of Maya’s story. See? My stories run on this black gold. I can’t help it!

I’ll keep you posted. But in the meantime, to those of you out there who told me how hard it was to not go make a coffee drink, I’m sorry. I had no idea.

I think my next book should be about someone who’s addicted to water and exercising. Maybe that will inspire me…And while I’m doing all this thinking, I’m going to go see if Jon wants clam chowder for dinner.

Happy brewing!

Erynn 🙂

8 Responses to “To all who complained there was too much coffee temptation in my books…”

  1. Terry White Says:

    Hi Erynn!

    I’m enjoying reading your blog. Would you mind if I copy a couple of your entries on “writing tips” for my writing students at the college this fall? With proper credit, of course!

    Tried your website–must be down for right now. Congratulations on the new two-book contract. I love it when that happens

    Be in touch.

    –tdwhite@bmhbooks.com

  2. Paris Says:

    Oh, man, I LOVE Starbucks!

  3. cjoy Says:

    Uh, yeah…how often do I want to eat what I am reading about? And how often does it inspire a meal that day, at least to some degree. Definitely write a story with lots of water, exercise and healthy foods, okay? In fact, make it series. =D

  4. Bethany Says:

    lol! I so know what you’re talking about.. I don’t like coffee, but while I was reading your books you’ve no IDEA how many times I wanted chocolate..and cheesecake..and all sorts of stuff like that. But I simply cannot imagine you writing a book about water and exercise! lol.. it’d be funnnnn 😀

  5. Natalie Says:

    Hey Erynn! I just wanted to let you know how much I’ve enjoyed your books over the past couple of years. They’ve kept me more entertained then any TV show. Well, maybe except for Lost! LOL! Keep up the great work. I look forward to your new series! God Bless.

  6. krista Says:

    love love love your books! i am getting ready to start Match Point. loved first 2 of the series. love the fact that coffee is soooo much a part of the stories!! {yay caffiene!} thanks so much for your great writing! keep up the good work. God bless!

  7. Sylvia M. Says:

    Coffee is great! According to “Almanac of the Christian Church” by William D. Blake, George Frederick Handel wrote the score to “The Messiah” in 24 days , subsisting primarily on coffee!

  8. Charity Says:

    Hey Erynn!! I love your books so much! I’ve tried to e-mail you, but it has not been working. So I’ll just type to you on here. I started reading your books at 11 years old. I know that probably wasn’t the age group you intended the books for, but I LOVED them anyway. Reading is one of my favorite hobbies, and like you, writing is my passion. If I can, I will send you part of the story I’m writing. I’d love to get one of my favorite authors’ opinions on it. When I saw your book in the little Christian book store near me for the first time, I was looking for a good book to read while I waited for the next book in the Warriors series to come out (My favorite books!!). I was just browsing, until I laid eyes on MissMatch. I immediately picked it up, briefly read through the back, and bought it. Something TOLD me to buy it! As soon as I started reading it back at home, I was hooked. I had it done in about three days, and wanted more. When I checked out your site, I discovered ReMatch wouldn’t be out for a LONG time!! It crushed me for a while, but I started reading some great classics. Then as soon as ReMatch came down, I swallowed it without chewing, but then went back and read some things over again. Now that I’ve recently finished MatchPoint, even though I’m sad it’s all over, I am very pleased with the ending, and couldn’t ask for more (well…Unless Laurie was to have kids that is. he he). Also I thought I might add, we are a lot alike, from the amazing love of chocolate, to the same slippers. Well anyway, thank you. Thank you so much! I absolutely adore your writing and your personality. Please keep writing and post any new books on your site. Oh, and congrats on your new husband! =) God bless you both!

Leave a Reply

