Sleepy days

Do you think this season is called “Fall” because it makes you want to fall into bed and snooze for a while? I’m not a doctor or actually anything medical (though I do own a pen from a doctor’s office. I think I stole it on accident. Sorry Dr. R), but I have this gut feeling that seasonal changes make you sleepier.

I don’t know. That’s my theory for Monday, so I can stop thinking now. :).

Good news! My website is back up and running, despite my lack of technological knowledge. Yay!

In other good news, I’m slowly, slowly, slowly making progress in Cool Beans. Sometimes, the whole “Microwave Society” thinking (you know – instantaneous results) gets to me when I write and I suddenly burst into this spastic freak out yelling “WHY AM I NOT DONE YET?!” Then I realize that writing – like everything else that’s not a Cup O’ Noodle or Jello – takes time.

My agent, Steve Laube, likes to tell me: “Writing is the only profession where staring out the window is actually working.” I took it one step further this afternoon and sat outside on my porch with my laptop. I was kind of hoping that being outside the window would inspire me more, but alas. I just had a clearer view of the trees without the screen door in the way and a few flies buzzing nearby.

But, nevertheless, despite coveting a nap and wondering what particular species of tree is growing in front of my porch, I did manage to get a few more words written. I bribed myself by having to reach a word count before I could eat a cookie. Sad? Yes. Used in training puppies? Yes. Does it work? Yup.

I hope that all of you are having a terrific Fall – and that you have plenty of time this week to catch a nap or snuggle into the sofa and watch 27 Dresses. Isn’t that the cutest movie ever?

Love,

Erynn 🙂

10 Responses to “Sleepy days”

  1. Paris Says:

    I LOVE Fall. And Spring. And Summer. And Christmas is the only good thing about Winter ’cause I odn’t get any snow ‘cept a few flurries. Doesn’t even stick!

  2. Steve Laube Says:

    Your agent is lurking and now knows your work habits. 🙂

    So. Cookies are the key to your success. Good to know.

    As for 27 DRESSES? It doesn’t have enough jeeps blowing up for me to be interested…

    Your Agent,

    Steve

  3. Bethany Says:

    Autumn is my favorite season of all… 😀
    Fun day.. I wish I could write..and get paid for it. And not have to do anything else. Ever.

  4. Charity Says:

    Hey Erynn!! I love your books so much! I’ve tried to e-mail you, but it has not been working. So I’ll just type to you on here. I started reading your books at 11 years old. I know that probably wasn’t the age group you intended the books for, but I LOVED them anyway. Reading is one of my favorite hobbies, and like you, writing is my passion. If I can, I will send you part of the story I’m writing. I’d love to get one of my favorite authors’ opinions on it. When I saw your book in the little Christian book store near me for the first time, I was looking for a good book to read while I waited for the next book in the Warriors series to come out (My favorite books!!). I was just browsing, until I laid eyes on MissMatch. I immediately picked it up, briefly read through the back, and bought it. Something TOLD me to buy it! As soon as I started reading it back at home, I was hooked. I had it done in about three days, and wanted more. When I checked out your site, I discovered ReMatch wouldn’t be out for a LONG time!! It crushed me for a while, but I started reading some great classics. Then as soon as ReMatch came down, I swallowed it without chewing, but then went back and read some things over again. Now that I’ve recently finished MatchPoint, even though I’m sad it’s all over, I am very pleased with the ending, and couldn’t ask for more (well…Unless Laurie was to have kids that is. he he). Also I thought I might add, we are a lot alike, from the amazing love of chocolate, to the same slippers. Well anyway, thank you. Thank you so much! I absolutely adore your writing and your personality. Please keep writing and post any new books on your site. Oh, and congrats on your new husband! =) God bless you both!

  5. Charity Says:

    please e-mail me!! I’d looove to hear from you! =)
    lindseys.1@verizon.net

  6. Katie Says:

    Erynn – your books inspire me! I just finished reading Match Point and I absolutely loved it. I laughed through the entire thing. You have given me a hope that I might be able to make it (one day) in the writing business! Keep on writing! And I absolutely love fall too. Everyone seems so much happier this time of the year!

  7. cjoy Says:

    27 Dresses was great! You should create a list of all the movies you love. You reference them so well in some of your books, and I think there was only one I couldn’t place.

  8. Erin Says:

    Fall is by far the best season!!

    I’m looking forward to reading more of your literature! I loved the Lauren Holbrook Series!!

  9. Cathy Says:

    Well, not all of us are going through Fall. Here in the Land Down Under, we are having a lovely Spring day, sun is shining, the birds are singing and the guys are grunting (AFL Grand Final… Football!)

    Just wanted to say that I loved the books. Never laughed so much through an entire book. Thankyou so much!

  10. Liz Says:

    Oh, Erin. I can totally relate with the sleepiness of fall. Even if it IS my favorite season, the mixture of allergies and going back to classes every day after a wonderful summer is exhausting! And I just have to say…
    1.) 27 Dresses is my mom’s and my favorite movie! Bennie and the Jets? CLASSIC MOMENT!
    2.) your self-bribe cookie technique I think is my key to passing Humanities this year. Thanks so much! 🙂

    God bless,
    AEW

Leave a Reply

